Imagine if…

20 October 2009

purplecrayon

“The dummy of Harold and the Purple Crayon came this morning, and I’ve just read it. I don’t know what to say about it. It doesn’t seem to be a good children’s book to me but I’m often wrong – “

From a letter to Crockett Johnson, November 22, 1954, from his editor, Ursula Nordstrom. Read the rest in Dear Genius: The Letters of Ursula Nordstrom, collected and edited by Leonard Marcus, Harpercollins, 1998.

Today is Crockett Johnson’s birthday. 1906 – 1975.

7 Responses to “Imagine if…”

  1. Amber Lough Says:

    A crayon is a real-life magic wand.

  2. Jacqui Says:

    I loved Dear Genius. Have you read Awakened By The Moon, his biography of Margaret Wise Brown? Also excellent and inspiring and full of picture book love.

  3. Debbie Says:

    Oooh, Amber, I love the way you put that.

    Jacqui, I have read at that book and thanks for reminding me to do that again. I’m also looking forward to reading FUNNY BUSINESS, Marcus’s latest.


  4. i would love that image of the crayon…. its amazing


  5. Hi Shua – I drew it with… a crayon!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

