Giving Thanks

24 November 2009

measuringspoons
what's up?

WE? Why aren’t WE posting? Since when do you do anything around here, Blog?

excuse me?

I have 20 people coming over in two days. I have COOKING to do! I have to make stuffing! and pies! and… well, honestly, Blog, I don’t have time for you today. Just this once, couldn’t you help out a little bit?
you don't have time?
Oh.

Well, THANK YOU for all of that, Blog.

whatever

rolling pin

 

THE RECIPE: SWEET POTATO PECAN PIE
(adapted from Paul Prudhomme)

Pie Dough:
Your own favorite recipe, or use
Paul Prudhomme’s.

Sweet Potato Filling:
2 to 3 sweet potatoes, or enough to yield 1 cup cooked (baked or microwaved) pulp
1/4 cup, packed, brown sugar
½ egg
1 tablespoon heavy cream
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
⅛ teaspoon ground allspice
⅛ teaspoon ground nutmeg

Pecan Pie Filling:
¾ cup brown sugar
¾ dark corn syrup
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups pecans

  • Place and arrange pie dough in a deep pie dish (1½”) or cake pan. Refrigerate.
  • For sweet potato filling: combine ingredients in a mixing bowl and beat until batter is smooth. Do not overbeat. Set aside.
  • For pecan pie filling: combine all ingredients except pecans and mix thoroughly until the syrup is opaque. Stir in pecans and set aside.
  • To assemble: spoon the sweet potato filling into the pie dough. Pour the pecan filling on top. Bake at 325∘until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean, about 1¾ hours.
  • Cool and serve with barely sweetened whipped cream.

7 Responses to “Giving Thanks”

  1. Jacqui Says:

    Um, yum. I am in charge of pie. Now I am trying to decide how much my family would kill me if I varied from my traditional pumpkin and slipped this deliciousness in there.

    We all appreciate you, Blog.

  2. AliceB Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, Debbie!

  3. Lily Says:

    Dear Debbie, and dear Blog,

    I was just wondering how you make sweet potato pecan pie. And now I know. I am so thankful for you both.

    Love,
    L


  4. Sweet potato pecan pie is very easy to make, and the men in my house would be very disappointed if we didn’t have lots of it!

    Everyone have a wonderful holiday!
    xo


  5. I am definitely going to try this, Debbie and Blog.
    And by the way, I LOVE this blog!!

    Happy Thanksgiving.

  6. Stephanie Says:

    Does it really work with any crust recipe? My husband loves this pie but I am always very disappointed with the crust (we follow the Paul Prudhomme recipe). If you have any particular suggestions for crusts that work well in place of it I would love to know.


  7. Hi Stephanie – my husband loves this pie too! But, okay, true confession here: I used to used Prudhomme’s crust, but then one day got lazy and used a Pillsbury pie crust… and my family liked it better. Last Thanksgiving I tried doing it from scratch again, and they complained that the crust wasn’t as good as usual! Maybe because the filling is sooo sticky and cooks for so long? I don’t know. But it sure is an easy recipe if you don’t make your own crust!

    Also, I do not do this in a cake pan, as he instructs, just a regular deep pyrex pie dish. And I have tinkered with this recipe a bit more since posting, removing the sugar and cream from the sweet potato filling, and everyone at my house liked that change better too. I love to make this one ahead of time – I assemble & freeze it, and then thaw & bake it at a later date.

    Let me know how it goes!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

