Blown Away

8 December 2010

E. E. Cummings

a wind has blown the rain away and blown
the sky away and all the leaves away,
and the trees stand. I think i too have known
autumn too long…

(the rest, with commentary)

4 Responses to “Blown Away”


  1. I have always been intrigued by e. e. cummings poetry.

    I carry this stanza (from “somewhere I have never traveled, gladly beyond”) in my heart of romance:

    your slightest look easily will unclose me
    though I have closed myself as fingers,
    you open, petal by petal, myself as Spring opens
    (touching skillfully, mysteriously) her first rose

    sigh.
    Thanks for sharing the snippet and the link and reminding me!

  2. Alice Says:

    The illustration is fabulous. It feels as if space and time have been collapsed and are being blown away, too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

